Time

They say that ‘time goes fast when you are having fun’ or the opposite when you are not. Why is that?

Does it have anything to do with your perceptions or is it a case of Einstein’s Relativity Theory impinging on us?

I wonder!

1203“They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.”

― Andy WarholThe Philosophy of Andy Warhol

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”

― Eric RothThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button screenplay

20108“It’s being here now that’s important. There’s no past and there’s no future. Time is a very misleading thing. All there is ever, is the now. We can gain experience from the past, but we can’t relive it; and we can hope for the future, but we don’t know if there is one.”

George Harrison

9810“Time is an illusion.”

Albert Einstein

6466154“The timeless in you is aware of life’s timelessness. And knows that yesterday is but today’s memory and tomorrow is today’s dream.”

Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet

“Time is an equal opportunity employer. Each human being has exactly the same number of hours and minutes every day. Rich people can’t buy more hours. Scientists can’t invent new minutes. And you can’t save time to spend it on another day. Even so, time is amazingly fair and forgiving. No matter how much time you’ve wasted in the past, you still have an entire tomorrow.”

Denis Waitley

7 thoughts on “Time

  1. From what I hear, the core of this apple is that time is not a universal constant, as clocks make it seem to be — to us, that is; my dog goes by daylight, hunger, habit and observation of me to know what time it is, but doesn’t know if it’s Tuesday or Wednesday. Clocks and calendars do a good job of putting the passage of changes in our place in the solar system into a great form for organization of civilization, and for various scientific uses, and for seeing who wins races (or seem to, relative to a clock). Kudos to sundials, too. But, time at its essence is an experience of distance between changes. Experience varies with perception, as you point out. Our experience of the time to walk from Times Square to Central Park is irrelevant to a hummingbird’s and a turtle’s experience. There is no race between the tortoise and the hare. They run in different time, not just different speed as measured by a clock. Maybe a physicist will check me on this. In any case, it’s a fun question.

  2. Heck, I dunno. Do you? I mean, is this a quiz? Since your original post quotes my favorite book of all TIME (Gibran), I’ll stick my tongue in my cheek and take a shot at Williams. First, I don’t know the context, so that means I can make up any meaning I want (right?). As with most things, there’s this problem of perspective. I’ll work from just one for now, which asks, “What do you mean by ‘distance’ and ‘places?’ Actual? Metaphorical?” (Everything is a metaphor.) See, that’s the pain-in-the-ass perspective. Reply with a question. Two, actually. Okay … here’s my shot at it: If you take a train or plane or the interstate highway to get from one place to another, or even a horse, you’ll get there at the speed those modes will take you. But if you take TIME, who knows when you’ll get there, because time takes us where we don’t expect. Williams just didn’t have the time to explain it, I guess. Don’t ask me too many questions, or my ignorance and stupidity will show. Then it gets ugly.

  3. I’m not upset. I inserted the disclaimer that it was all tongue-in-cheek, and that included the last two sentences.

    After I clicked “Post” on that comment, I wondered if I should write that stuff in my own blog. But the questions are being asked over here, so I hafta go where the discussion is happening. I guess I should just hope that you have a lot of readers clicking my Gravatar to see who this clown is.

    Geez, I can’t imagine why you still don’t get the Williams thing. I just explained it to you! . I guess you’ll just have to read the book. No, not Williams’ The Glass Menagerie. Mine, when I get around to writing it. Don’t hold your breath waiting for that.

    • Hmmm. I just realized that when I insert emotions in angle brackets, they do not appear in the comment. (I am at a loss for emoticons.) So, to clarify my prior comment:

      “grinning” goes in front of the first sentence.
      “guffaw” goes after “I just explained it to you!”

      It’s all still tongue in cheek and my tongue is tired. I gueth I thould take a break and go for this morning’th walk in the woodth.

      [thnarky thmirk]

Leave a Reply

