The Gunas: The Three Constituents of Prakriti

Through the Peacock's Eyes

Before going further into the Nakshatras and Jyotisha (Vedic Astrology), we need to become familiar with both the three Gunas and the four motivations of life. Let’s begin with the Gunas, which are the intrinsic qualities or tendencies of Prakriti, the universal energy of primary matter or Nature.

The three Gunas are Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas, and they are often associated with creation (Brahma), preservation (Vishnu), and destruction (Shiva) respectively. Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva make up the Hindu Trinity or Trimurti, and with their association with the three Gunas we can see how they represent the three stages that matter, or Nature, goes through in her continuous cycle of life.

Sattva सत्त्व translates as essence. When someone or something is sattvic it has the qualities of purity, equilibrium, harmony, and goodness. Rajas रजस् translates as air or vapor. Being rajasic has the qualities of activity, movement, and passion. Tamas तमस् translates as darkness…

View original post 446 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s